My Life. Through Music.

Posted: June 12, 2012 in About Me, Bands I Like
Tags: , ,

-This post is about to get very self indulgent. If you couldn’t give a rat’s ass about my personal life and are just waiting for the music reviews and business articles, skip it! If you’d like a glimpse into my life, this is the place to be.-

I have always had a close, meaningful relationship with music. Sure I’ve wandered into embarrassing territory (I was young), and I’ve gotten stuck in ruts, but I could easily segment my life based on what I was listening to at the time. And that’s just what I’ll do. Hopefully there will be some bands on here you know, as well as some you don’t. I’m all about discovery.

Conception-6yo

This was a good time for me. I didn’t have to worry about ANYTHING. I grew up in a small town in Ohio and my parents both worked. My dad’s a civil engineer and (at the time) my mom was an aerobics instructor. I have an older brother who has brighter red hair than me…he always believed I stole our parents’ attention as kids. My parents are the most wonderful people I could hope would raise me; they knew that I loved music and singing from a young age and encouraged that passion completely.

Those of you who have parents who discourage the pursuit of music, I don’t know how you do it, but it’s fantastic that you do. Keep on keepin’ on.

Music that defined the era: Classic rock, second wave punk – Ozzy Osborne, Ted Nugent, The Offspring, The Presidents of The United States of America, Queensryche

7-11yo

Wakeboarding is what I remember most from this segment. I learned the water sport at the tale end of being 6 (summer birthday) and competed in amateur competitions for 2 years. My parents have always been very entrepreneurial, which is where I get my desire to be my own boss, and my mom ran a boat business at the time. I’m pretty sentimental about the summers of too much sun and competing against boys twice my age (and winning, you know how I do). I also started a private elementary school, which, in its PRIME, had about 100 students for K-8th grade. It was one of those schools where we called teachers by their first names and didn’t have bells to end each period.

This is also where I met my best friend of 13 years, Courtney. She introduced me to Pokemon and that was that. Bonded for life. To your right, you’ll see one of our *rare* moments of insanity==>

When I transferred to public school I was way ahead in math and way behind in science. My school wasn’t perfect, but it encouraged me to be independent and, more importantly, taught me that authority figures are human beings, just like everyone else, at a young age.

Music that defined the era: (This is kind of a “lost era”) Boy Bands, more classic rock – NSYNC, Backstreet Boys, Avril Lavigne, Styx, REO Speedwagon, Rush

11-15yo

Easily the worst years of my pre-college life, middle school was nothing short of torturous. The transfer from private to public school was such a shift, my innocent little self was not prepared for the jolt. I’d never really experienced bullying or “cliques” or any of the typical social pains of school because everyone was kind of forced to hang out with each other at my old school. In a new class of over 200 students, I was pretty much lost. On top of that, Courtney had moved out of town and I could only see her every once in a while. Luckily, I had my music as a sanctuary. I was taking piano lessons, private singing lessons, and was accepted into a very prestigious children’s choir in Ohio. I also began to acquire a little bit of chub by 8th grade, which was lost after a choir trip to Europe where my picky eating prevented me from eating anything but bread, followed by a month-long camp that kept me active. Going into high school (Catholic high school, no more public school for me), I was excited to find a place, and I did. I met my two best friends of high school, Katie and Cate, on the first day and we were pretty much inseparable the whole first two years.

Music that defined the era: 70s and 80s rock, post-grunge, Brit Pop – Journey, REO Speedwagon, Bon Jovi, Def Leppard, Creed, Nickelback (these two were later banned from my ears…), McFly (Cate, Katie, and I obsessed for a few years)

15-17yo

Oh my. Ooooh my my my. Boys. Boys are what took up my thoughts during my Junior and Senior years of high school. What can I say? I was a late bloomer.

My first few forays into relationships and attraction were filled with nerves, anxiety-induced weight loss, intense connections, and life-altering rejections. But mostly I was just being over-dramatic. I also used my teenage angst to start writing more seriously and picked up the guitar to be able to actually back up the lyrics and melodies in my head. At the end of my senior year, I was rejected from my top two choices for college and my first real boyfriend, and I started the worst job I’ve ever had, all in during spring break. With all of these seemingly dead ends thrown my way, it’s safe to say I was at a pretty low point in my life going into college.

Music that defined the era: angst, Alternative Rock, new folk, pop punk, Female Rock Singers – Taking Back Sunday, Bright Eyes, Hellogoodbye, All Time Low, Paramore, Flyleaf

18yo

My first year of college was not so great, to say the least. Somehow I wound up surrounded by people with some serious issues, who didn’t like me all that much. I spent most of that year in a relationship that was maintained through manipulation and threats. Again, the light in the tunnel was my music. I wrote more that year than I think I ever have. I also reapplied to my top school choice (Berklee College of Music). Persistence pays off and I’m now attending that school. After i was accepted, I really took a lot more initiative in finding other musicians and that summer was the best one of my life. I played several shows and felt so on top of the world preparing for Boston.

If I hadn’t had that year, I really don’t think I would have appreciated the opportunity I was given coming to Boston.

Music that defined the era: Alternative Rock, Hard Rock, FolkCartel, Paramore, Flyleaf, Rise Against, Taking Back Sunday, Anberlin

19yo

Berklee ftw! I was so incredibly lucky to be able to take advantage of everything that school has to offer. I went in with a determination I had lost over the previous few years, and damn did it pay off. My first year I joined the Songwriters Club and volunteered to do EVERYTHING I could. The president at the time really liked my competence (his words) and basically became my mentor for that year. I ran my first events and shows and met so many amazing and talented people. This is also when I realized that I’m not meant to write songs for a living, which was a blessing and a curse. I always dreamt of performing, but when I tried it, I kind of really hated the pressure and never being satisfied with a performance. I still write occasionally, but it’s mostly just for my benefit. 19 was when I realized I want to be successful, not famous.

Over the summer I lost some friends and made some mistakes. Mostly due to the full discovery of alcohol upon entering Berklee. There are times I wish things happened differently, but I see it as a way to learn and not fuck up again. Which I’m sure I will some way or another, but hopefully not too badly!

I also met many more boys, had a few heartaches, and learned how to move on quickly (i.e. write a song about it).

Music that defined the era: Alternative Rock, Dubstep, Folk, Berklee music – Passion Pit, Muse, The White Stripes, Mumford & Sons, Skrillex,  songwriters at Berklee (Charles Johnson, Jesse Beauchamp, Giorgi, I could go on)

20yo-now

At this point (my second year at Berklee) I was running the Songwriters Club and founded and ran the Ski and Snowboard Club. I also wrote for the Music Business Journal briefly and tried just about everything under the sun that I might be interested in. I met the guy I dated for 8 months (longest relationship yet!) and that support allowed me to buckle down and get a lot done. My grades improved, I ran two of the biggest student run concerts at Berklee and managed the other 3-4 shows we put on a year. The only downside was that my social life just tanked. As in it was essentially non-existent for a while. Again, learning experience.

I applied for the internship program in New York in the Spring semester, searched for internships obsessively, and found some pretty fantastic places to work for the summer, including the school magazine.

Music that defined the era: Alternative/Blues Rock, Folk, Dubstep, Blues/Jazz, jam sessions – The Black Keys, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Nina Simone, The White Stripes, Punch Brothers, Skrillex, jam sessions…which I didn’t take part in because I can’t improvise to save my life.

That pretty much brings us up to date on things you probably didn’t know about me. It’s pretty much impossible to sum up a life in a few paragraphs, so I might go into more depth about some things as I feel like it (if I feel like it), but mostly I’ll post about my current life and about the music industry.

Questions? Comments? Concerns?

Want to know more about my life as an atheist in a Catholic school?

Hit me up below, or follow me on Twitter/Facebook. Fuck yeah, social media.

Comments
  1. Dan Brown says:

    Wow, I love that you’ve got practically your whole life story right here! Sounds like you’ve come a long way from where you started, too. So pretty much, you’re awesome. That’s all I’ve got, I guess.

Leave a Reply

